Last verified

SpaceXAI · Pricing

Grok Build pricing: included everywhere, measured nowhere

Grok Build is on every Grok plan, including the free one, and the client is free software. So the question is not which tier unlocks it but how much work each tier allows — and that the vendor does not publish. Paid plans share one weekly pool across Chat, Imagine, Voice, Build and the API, reported only as a percentage. A key priced per token is the one route with a published rate.

§ 01 / EVERY WAY TO BUY IT

Seven ways in, and all seven include it.

This is the opposite of the usual agent pricing page, and the opposite of its own sibling: where Grok Bot sits on exactly three tiers, Grok Build carries a tick in every column of the vendor's comparison matrix — Free included. Nothing here is a route to the tool, because the tool is not sold. Each row buys a quantity of Grok model usage, and the differences between rows are differences in how much.

Route Bought as Price What it buys
Grok Free Subscription $0/mo The comparison matrix on the vendor's own pricing page carries Grok Build in the Free column, alongside every other tier. What the free allowance actually is, the vendor does not say — free usage is described only as limits, never as a quantity.
SuperGrok Subscription $30/mo Buys a weekly usage pool, not a Grok Build allowance: the same pool is spent by Chat, Imagine, Voice and the API. The vendor says a long coding task draws far more from it than a chat message does.
SuperGrok Plus Subscription $100/mo Described as significantly higher usage across Chat, Imagine, Voice and Build, plus priority access at peak times. How much higher is not stated in any unit.
SuperGrok Heavy Subscription $300/mo The top individual tier. Its price is not printed on the pricing page at all — it is published on the Grok Bot page, inside an animated counter whose text lags its own value.
Grok Business Per seat $30/seat/mo Lists Grok Build access by name. Carries the row no individual tier has at any price: content from business customers is not used to train the models.
Grok Enterprise Per seat Contact sales Adds SSO, SCIM, customer-managed encryption keys and a dedicated data plane. Zero data retention for Grok Build is enforced at team level and belongs to this route, not to any individual one.
xAI API key API key At model rates Usage-based with no minimum, set with XAI_API_KEY and unaffected by any subscription pool. One rule matters more here than the rate: a request whose prompt reaches 200k tokens is billed at the higher tier for every token in it, not just the ones past the threshold — a cliff, not a marginal rate, and an agent carrying repository context walks toward it all session.

Genuinely free, and unusually so for a coding agent: the vendor's comparison matrix puts Grok Build in every column including Free, where its sibling Grok Bot appears in only three. The catch is not a time limit but an unstated one — the vendor never publishes the size of a free allowance, so how far it goes is discoverable only by using it.

Read off, in order of appearance: x.ai/pricing, 2026-09-21 x.ai/bot, 2026-09-21 docs.x.ai/pricing, 2026-09-21 docs.x.ai/faq, 2026-09-21

§ 02 / WHICH ROUTE IS YOURS

Priced by who you are.

Seeing whether it can navigate your repo
Grok Free
You have a real project and a terminal, and you want to know whether the thing is useful before it is attached to a card.
$0/mo

Costs nothing, and unusually for this section that is not a trial with a clock on it. The free plan is a standing tier that carries Grok Build, so there is no day on which access lapses. What there is instead is an undisclosed ceiling: the vendor describes free access as limits, never as a quantity, so the only way to learn how far it goes is to run it until it stops.

One developer, most working days
SuperGrok
Grok Build is now in the loop for real work — reading code, running tests, making edits — and it stopped being an experiment a while ago.
$30/mo

The entry paid tier, and the first that carries a weekly pool. Worth understanding what you are buying: not a Grok Build allowance but a general one. The same pool answers your chat questions and renders your images, and the vendor says explicitly that a long coding task draws far more from it than a chat message does. A week of heavy agent work is a week of not generating video.

Long sessions and parallel subagents
SuperGrok Plus
You run plans across large trees and let subagents work in their own worktrees, so several contexts are alive at once.
$100/mo

The vendor's phrase for this tier is significantly higher usage across Chat, Imagine, Voice and Build, plus priority access at peak times. Significantly higher than what remains the unanswered question: both this tier and the one below it are described in comparatives against each other, never in a unit, so the step up cannot be sized before you buy it.

The ceiling, for people who keep hitting one
SuperGrok Heavy
You exhausted the pool on the tier below more than once and would rather not think about it again.
$300/mo

The top individual tier. A detail worth knowing before you go looking: its price does not appear on the pricing page at all. It is published on the vendor's Grok Bot page instead, inside an animated counter whose visible text lags the value it is animating toward — which is a strange place to keep the number for the most expensive thing an individual can buy.

A team with code it cannot leak
Grok Business
Several engineers, a private codebase, and somebody who has to answer for where the source goes.
$30/seat/mo

The reason to be on this row is not the seat management — it is the training row. On every individual tier, up to and including the most expensive one, model training is a setting the user has to find and switch off. Business is the first tier where not training on your content is the vendor's commitment rather than your checkbox. For a tool pointed at a private repository that is the whole argument.

CI, scripts and anything unattended
xAI API key
Grok Build runs headless in a pipeline, reviewing diffs or triaging failures, with no one watching the terminal.
At model rates

A key detaches you from the pool entirely and is the only route with a published rate. It also exposes the rule that matters most to an agent: crossing 200k prompt tokens re-prices the whole request at the higher tier, not just the tokens past the line. An agent accumulating repository context walks toward that threshold all session, and steps over it once — after which every token in that request, including the first, bills at the higher rate.

§ 03 / BRING YOUR OWN KEY

The key is real, and it need not be theirs.

Set XAI_API_KEY and Grok Build bills per token with no minimum, outside any subscription. That much is ordinary. What is less ordinary is that the key does not have to be xAI's at all: the client reads a user-level config file in which any model with an OpenAI-compatible endpoint can be declared and made the default, and the vendor documents this rather than tolerating it. The harness is Apache-2.0, so the terminal program you install can be pointed at a competitor's model and keeps working.

That matters for two reasons beyond novelty. It is the reason this page treats Grok Build as a free client rather than a product with a price — nothing here sells the client, and a route that buys someone else's model still leaves the client free. And it is a live escape hatch for an organisation locked to a vendor for reasons that have nothing to do with coding agents: the enterprise documentation notes that a policy disabling first-party key authentication does not block third-party endpoints, because their address is not the vendor's, and tells administrators to restrict those through their own provider instead.

§ 04 / LEAVING

Getting out, and the four different desks behind it.

Where you cancel and who refunds you both depend on where you bought, and the vendor's own FAQ splits into four paths. Bought on the web, you manage and cancel it in the browser, and a refund is requested on an xAI form and reviewed; approved ones are stated to land on the original payment method within five to ten business days. Bought through Google Play, cancellation is Google's but the refund is still xAI's, on the same form. Bought through Apple, both belong to Apple and xAI says so plainly. And if the access arrived as part of an X Premium subscription, neither cancellation nor refund is xAI's at all — that one goes to X.

One line on the same page is worth more than the rest of the section to anyone running on a key: subscriptions are reviewable, but API credits are not refundable at all. The two statements sit in adjacent paragraphs, which is a clearer disclosure than most vendors manage, and it means the money-back question has opposite answers depending on which route above you took.

Frequently asked.

What people search next.

Q · 01 Is Grok Build free? +
Yes, in both senses, which is rare. The client is free software under Apache-2.0 with a public repository, and the free Grok plan includes Grok Build — the vendor's comparison matrix carries it in every column. What is not free is model usage beyond whatever the free plan allows, and the vendor does not publish what that is.
Q · 02 How much usage does each plan actually include? +
The vendor does not say, in any unit. Since June 2026 the per-product daily limits were replaced by a single weekly pool, and that pool is reported to the user only as a percentage consumed, broken down by product. There is no published number of tokens, requests or currency behind the percentage, so two tiers cannot be compared except by the vendor's own comparatives — higher, generous, highest.
Q · 03 Does Grok Build have its own allowance? +
No, and this is the most consequential thing on the page. One weekly pool is shared by Chat, Imagine, Voice, the API and Build. The vendor states that products draw on it unevenly and names the extremes itself: a chat message uses little compute, while a long coding task uses far more. Time spent with the agent is therefore deducted from the same budget as image and video generation.
Q · 04 What happens when the weekly pool runs out? +
Paid features pause until the weekly reset. It is not a hard stop — you can buy Extra Usage Credits, move up a tier, or enable automatic top-ups. Note which free limits survive: the vendor names Chat and Voice, and does not name Build.
Q · 05 Is it cheaper to upgrade or to buy extra usage? +
The vendor answers this directly and in its own favour, but the answer is still informative: upgrading gives significantly more usage at a lower cost per action than repeatedly buying credits, because credits are priced at standard rates while usage inside a plan is effectively discounted. What it never publishes is either rate, so the size of that discount is unknowable from outside. The same work has two prices and the ratio between them is not disclosed.
Q · 06 What is the 200k rule on the API route? +
On a key, requests are priced in two bands by prompt size, and a request that reaches 200k prompt tokens is billed at the higher band for every token in it rather than only the excess. It is a cliff rather than a marginal rate, and it is aimed squarely at the way a coding agent works — context accumulates across a session until one request crosses the line and re-prices entirely.
Q · 07 Is SuperGrok Lite a way in, and what does it cost? +
It is a way in — the comparison matrix carries Grok Build in the Lite column like every other. Its price is the problem: xAI publishes no figure for Lite anywhere on its site, and the button for it leads straight to a checkout that prices by the visitor's location. We do not print a localised figure as though it were a list price, so the tier is named here without one.